The Invitations… New and Improved!

I’ll skip the sorry I’m posting this so late, and dive straight into it.  Invitations! 😀 They turned out great and everybody loved them, even if I was a bit late getting them sent off.  Did these all at home on my own printer, and some parchment paper purchased from Big W – around $6 for 50 sheets – and they turned out perfectly.  Please disregard the very first post on this blog 😀

I decided I wanted them to look and feel like the Hogwarts Acceptance Letters, but at the same time, I didn’t want to copy them word for word, because this wouldn’t be a “term”, school wouldn’t start on the 1st of September, and guests wouldn’t be arriving by Hogwarts Express.  So, I did some googling and mixed and matched on other invitations I saw around the place, the books and the movies, to form the invitation written out below:

Dear ……………….. ,

We are pleased to inform you that you have been invited to an evening of festivities at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, to celebrate Kylie’s 21st.

On 9th June 2013 we and our guests gather in the Entrance Hall, [ADDRESS], for a night of well mannered frivolity.  Celebrations begin at exactly 15:00 hours, and as such, guests are advised to start arriving up to one hour in advance.

It is requested you wear your normal witch or wizard attire, as the surrounding area is safeguarded by Memory Charms.  Guests are reminded that magic is not permitted in the presence of a muggle.

We await your owl by no later than 1st June 2013.  If you have access to a muggle fellytone dial [PHONE NUMBER] or notify us of your attendance via Facebook.  See the Hufflepuff Prefect Kylie O’Brien for more details.

Yours sincerely,

Minerva McGonagall
Deputy Headmistress

HOGWARTS SCHOOL of WITCHCRAFT & WIZARDRYHeadmaster: Albus Dumbledore, D. Wiz., X.J. (sorc.), S. of Magic.Q.

Included were also slips of parchment bearing the note:

Prizes will be awarded for the best dressed in the following categories:  Funniest, Most Authentic, Best Overall.

And my Follow the Spiders card as seen here.

All the envelopes were addressed in the Mr H Potter format, although some were Mr and Mrs 😛 Everyone also had an accurate description of their bedrooms – most of which I knew, some of which I had to ask for to ensure authenticity.  To give you an idea, all the different variations I used are listed below:

The Main Bedroom
The Largest Bedroom
The Smallest Pink Bedroom
The Purple Bedroom
The Playroom
The Smallest Room on the Right
The Bedroom to the Left
The First Door on the Right
The Room Upstairs on the Left
The Room at the End of the Hall
The Room on the Right off the Hall
The Bedroom with the Fish Bowl
The Room with the Overflowing Bookshelves

I also left off the postcode/zip code numbers, as these aren’t needed for Owl Post.  Most of the invitations I delivered in person anyway, the other half were put inside plain envelopes to help protect them, hence the postcode was on the outer envelope.  Nevermind that of the 4 I mailed locally, all 4 wax seals got smashed, and the 1 I sent internationally, it arrived intact… but anyway, I think that’s because I had extra padding in the envelope. 😛 That is something to be wary of though if you are mailing them.  I DID NOT USE PROPER SEALING WAX, I USED REGULAR CANDLE WAX, and I assume this was the problem.  This is just something to keep in mind.  Candle wax is a cheap, readily available option, just be prepared for them to crumble in the post.  These are much better hand delivered and can be carefully pried open to keep much of the seal in tact.  Next time, when I’m more prepared (you mean 2 years wasn’t enough?) I would choose proper seal wax, which I think looks better too and would imprint and seal better. 🙂

Now, the envelopes.  I am not going to post the envelope template I used, nor will I link to the font I used – just know that it is fan-made and called “Acceptance Letter”.  I have mentioned, linked, and thanked the members of the RPF countless times on this blog, now it’s your turn to go hunting for the material as it is not my own.  I will say though, despite being incredibly annoying to cut out, the custom envelope design looked beautiful once it was all cut and glued.  Well worth it.

The wax seals!  Hardest thing of the lot.  But I was determined for the real thing.  Well, almost the real thing, as I used candle wax, not sealing wax, as mentioned above.  You can buy Hogwarts Stamps from the official stores, however these contain the full Hogwarts crest and are small and intricate in design – and square.  They look awesome, but so does the simple design as seen in Philosopher’s stone – which is simply the H design on the inside of the crest – as seen when the letters arrive on the doorstep and also in Film Wizardry (reference here and here).  Following the tutorial here, I went about making my own custom wax sealing stamp, which first required the design be drawn, printed, and stenciled out (click any of images below for larger versions).

waxh

The tutorial calls for a wooden dowel and a wood burning tool.  I used what I had – the handle of a rolling pin, and an exacto knife, a pin in the corners.  I also left out the part about staining the wood.  It was a little messy, and didn’t leave the greatest impressions in the wax, but it did the job, and everyone thought it was awesome.

Pic 246

Just follow the tutorial and… practice.  That’s really all I can say.  Practice a lot.  Know how hard to press down, how long to press down, how much to drip, when to drip.

Pic 244

Make sure the stamp faces the right way up and don’t remove it until the wax is cooled.

Pic 390

And even when you practice, you’ll still end up with mistakes.  But that’s okay 🙂 These are all of my completed wax seals, ordered, in my opinion, from worst to best.

Pic 392

And, the finished product. 😀

Pic 389_

More posts coming soon!

~ by acciomagic on July 4, 2013.

3 Responses to “The Invitations… New and Improved!”

  1. A good alternative for wax (candle or sealing) is to use glue and paint. You can either mix the paint in with the glue (Elmer’s-type that dries clear) which causes a more translucent look or paint it afterward with a can of spray paint. You could also use hot glue (it’s a bit better, to be honest because it’s stiffer). The trick is to do it on parchment or wax paper, paint it all at once, then use a glue dot (you can get it where there are scrapbooking supplies) or double sided tape to attach it. A plus is that these hold up *very* well and they look pretty authentic.

    • Sorry for such a late reply 🙂 This sounds like a good idea and will have to try it next time. I’m sure we have about 3 broken hot glue guns around the place though, so will have to find a new one and the additional spray paint, which I have never in fact, used. 😛

      • Spray paint is easy enough to use; just make sure you have on old clothes (just in case) and you do it outside. Otherwise, it’s fun to use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
