Eeylops Premium Owl Treats

Hi all!  It’s been quite hectic – somehow, my party is now just over a month away and I don’t know how I’ll ever get everything finished in time!  Meanwhile, everyone is telling me what a big deal 21 is and want to know what they can get me, and once again, like every other year, I’ve had no idea.  I’d like some money for a holiday, so I’m thinking of just asking for that (the money, not the holiday 😉 ).  Anyway, this led to a few quick Google searches for wishing well bird cages.  I’ve been eyeing off a small, pretty one I like, though I had no idea what to use it for as I’m yet to find a nice owl.  Now, I do, and it’s not an owl.  This is a great idea for anyone wanting a Potter party with a “wishing well” – don’t get a well, get an owl cage!

Now, one would be wise to add a note or label perhaps saying “Cards” so people can identify what it is there for, or perhaps stack a few inside to begin with (of course, you could also add a “Hedwig” label or something too; “The Owlery” is my favourite).  This wasn’t enough for me though.  Sure, my owl might be away delivering a letter at the moment, but what am I to feed him or her when she gets back?

Eeylops Premium Owl Treats.  Check out the quick design I made below:

eeylopsowltreats

This was printed onto kraft paper and folded into a little paper bag following this tutorial.  Of course, you could just print it onto a normal paper bag and you shouldn’t have any problems.  A tip though: you might want to tape down the corners to help it run smoother through the printer without jamming.  Looks sweet when its complete!  I threw in some small pebbles to weigh it down and glued down the top – perfect little disguised package, if you ask me!

Pic 364_

I’ve also been hard at work trying out some imitation gold leaf – that is, the shiny gold stuff you see on certain books, particularly old or fancy ones.  Not the real stuff, hence ‘imitation’.  It works well, though a little fiddly and not at all perfect and clear.  If anyone wants me to make a tutorial on this, please let me know, but between the instructions on the product and this YouTube video, there really isn’t much more to tell.  I tried it out on ElliotStone’s (from the RPF) cover of History of Magic:

Pic 363_

That’s it from me!  As I say everytime now my party is near you should be hearing more from me – I mean it this time!  I’m going to start on my invitations and a whole bunch of other awesome goodies, so I’ll see you soon!

Happy Unofficial International Harry Potter Day!  May 2 marks the anniversary of the Battle of Hogwarts.

~ by acciomagic on May 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
