Shadow Box: The Marauders

Told you there would be another post today 😀

I think I’ve finished my wall hanging.  It’s called a shadowbox, and inside are images that have been layered together.  I had the idea 2 weeks ago and I finished it in about a week and a half.  I bought my first ever watercolour pencils at the shops last weekend, and now here is the finished result.  Perhaps could’ve had more practice with the pencils beforehand, buuuut… I’m quite happy with how it turned out 🙂

Looooook 😀

    

“They did something for me that would make my transformations not only bearable, but the best times of my life. They became Animagi.” – Remus Lupin, Prisoner of Azkaban.

There are five layers inside:

1.  Sky, lake and mountains.
2.  Padfoot, rocks.
3.  Moony, Wormtail, rocks, Whomping Willow.
4.  Prongs.
5.  Rocks.

Originally, there was about an inch and a half more on the sides, but I had to cut it down to fit the frame.  I also had to redo the background twice because I couldn’t get it looking right, and the page ended up with wrinkles as well as warps.  All of the layers ended up a little warped as I wasn’t using the proper watercolour paper, but once I flattened them inside some books they were okay.  Prongs gave me soo much trouble, so I really, really love his finished result.  Also quite proud of Moony’s colouring considering I didn’t want him looking the same colour as the rocks.  Both Moony and Padfoot went through a few redraws.  The trick is you’re drawing 5 different layers, that are going to be about a cm in front of the other, so you had to get the alignment right.  Was a bit of a challenge 🙂 I had so much fun with it.

There are actually tabs on the sides and bottoms of each layer which are glued to the inside of the box, and the tabs were also painted black to disguise them a bit more.  I also had two wooden skewers in place behind the top of the tree and behind the first layer where I forgot to add tabs.  These helped to position them without the page curling.  The box was box was built from cardboard and placed behind a normal frame, following this simple tutorial.  Had a little trouble finding the right size frame that I wanted, and in the end the only frame I could find was a damaged one on the shelf :O But that also meant I got it half price for $1.50 and with a bit of black paint you could hardly notice the scratches, though there’s still a small part at the top of the frame where the wood has been rubbed off.  Eh.  It’s got a werewolf inside.  A little damage give it character. 😛

I’ve got to say though, an amazing thank you to my inspiration for this artwork.  Three beautiful shadowboxes by Amanda, here, here and here.  They are non-Potter related, but I highly recommended checking them out.  They have been so well made and I absolutely adore them. 😀 Without her work, I wouldn’t have had the idea or inspiration to make this.

To the Marauders, together again at last.

~ by acciomagic on March 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
