Dragon Breeding for Pleasure and Profit

My apologies, yadda yadda.  You know the drill.  Did I tell you when I started this blog that most of the time I start blogs they end up inactive within a few weeks?  😀 But I’ve come back.  Something about Harry must be keeping me here!

I finally finished reading Page to Screen the other day.  ‘Twas amazing and well worth the read!  So heavy and big and bulky, but so very, very beautiful.  I soaked up every word.  I am also 3/4 through reading Dear Mr Potter – also very amazing – and learning about how Harry has shaped so many lives. 🙂

And what do we think about Jo’s new book, aye?  That’s pretty exciting!  Just wish I knew what it was going to be about…

Oh, and I’m a myHogwarts Beta Tester 🙂 Also exciting!  Can’t wait to explore the site!

And uni started back today.

The good news?  I got last year’s assignments back.  Finally.  Including the partial manual and plan I wrote entitled – wait for it – Dragon Breeding for Pleasure and Profit.  Yup! 😀 Nice fat Distinction too, to compliment the one I got for my Auror Brochure.  I went through numerous ideas before deciding on Dragons.  I didn’t have enough material to work with for potions, I didn’t want to do a manual on how to play Quidditch… but once I started on Dragons, I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I used this picture of Jo’s original illustrations as reference, and the cover diagram was drawn from the one seen on Pottermore of an egg over an open fire.  I was full on prepared to finish this manual after the assignment to increase it’s length to a much thicker volume (the assignment was only to be about 800 words + Commentary so much of it is just planning and mapping for what would be in its place).  However, like most of my ideas, this was pushed aside and I didn’t get much further than detailing the map below (not displayed in the document. Reference picture).  I’ll probably still lengthen it out one day to use as party-prop-book-content, but ’til then you are welcome to use/finish/reinvent what I’ve done by downloading the attached document.

Download the file: Manual.doc (243 KB)

[You will need the following fonts to view the document properly: Minion Pro, Minion Pro Cond, New England Engraved]

~ by acciomagic on February 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
